top of page

Does Spending More Money Equal Better Food?

As you all know, I love food. Those who have been following me on Instagram and Snapchat see my meals and daily comfort foods all of the time. I pride myself on always eating somewhere new or seeking out the best hidden spots. I would get endless inquiries from followers, friends, and family on where they should eat. Because I'm such a huge foodie, I firmly believe in paying for experience as well as your meal. But I also do keep in mind that spending more money on food does not always mean better quality food. Depending on your palate, some of the cheapest meals out there taste better than five star plates. I am not saying avoid spending a little extra for a good meal, just make sure it's worth it.

Unfortunately, not every place I go to is a homerun. I recently went to two restaurants that did my palate so dirty. I was not satisfied at all really. The service and the ambiance were fabulous, but the food just did not cut it for me.

I went to a local driven restaurant by the name of Poor Calvin's. It's off of Piedmont and offers Thai fusion with southern influences. The waitresses were very helpful and patient. I decided to have the Grilled New Zealand Lamb Rack. It was not to my liking, as it was very fatty. I would suggest if you eat lamb, you get lamb lollipops. I had some when my love to took me to Yebo (which closed, relocated, and was renamed as Yebo Beach Haus). They specialize in South African cuisine that's t die for.

The asparagus was good. And the parts of the lamb that I could get to, weren't bad. I was not happy with the mashed potatoes either. This meal was $28. The next place I went to was another cute and quaint restaurant off of Piedmont by the name of Campagnolo. They serve Italian cuisine. The service again was delightful. I had their Arancini as an appetizer. It was four breaded pancetta risotto balls and aioli with a balsamic reduction. They were so good!

And for my entrée, I ordered gnocchi. I had been wanting to try it for so long, and to my dismay it did not impress me in the slightest. It contained arugula pesto, capers, grape tomatoes, and fried garlic chips. I was so upset that I didn't like it. I had to send it back.

I would never say, "don't go to these restaurants", because I had bad experiences. Explore them! They might capture your taste buds completely. I'm still going to search for new places to eat. Hopefully I will not run into anymore issues like these. But then again, maybe my palate was not mature enough to enjoy what these restaurants had to offer.


bottom of page