top of page

St. Patty's Day Weekend

Happy St. Patrick's Day and also a happy birthday to my auntie Tiy! My mother and I took the weekend off to go to Savannah for my auntie's birthday and to dabble in St. Patty's Day activities. It was wonderful. My mom wanted me to experience the festivities, as she grew up in Savannah and pleasantly stayed away from all of the hoopla. We were so excited, that we went and bought t-shirts, socks, and holiday paraphernalia. We made it to Savannah by Thursday night and woke up the next day at 7:30 am. Because of very limited parking and the parade going on downtown, shuttles were organized by the city from Savannah Mall to the Greyhound bus station.

Since the parade started at 10:30am and we made it down there a bit early, we popped in to a local coffee shop called The Coffee Fox on Broughton Street. I didn't partake in any coffee products, but I did have a churro muffin. It was so dense and sweet. They definitely added a lot more sugar to their recipe, because authentic churros are not that sweet.

After filling our bellies with a decent amount of nourishment, we picked our spot along the parade route. As my mom reminisced about her days in high school with her dear friend Mrs. Bernadette, my cousin and I were watching the parade as marching bands, floats, and entire families made their appearance. I was presently surprised when my Godmother came walking down the pavement. We ran screaming in her direction and hugged her tightly. We were literally in the middle of the street with her as if it was appropriate.

Saturday morning kicked off with a trip to the Tanger Outlet. I got deals of course, but that is not the topic of this post. Afterwards we were famished and needed vitals. Of course I was responsible for finding a good eatery, and boy did I deliver. I found a hidden gem called The Howlin Hound off of Waters Avenue. My mom ordered the Firecracker Shrimp Wrap with romaine, avocado, firecracker sauce in a garlic herb wrap. Mrs. Bernadette and I ordered the Soup, Salad, and Lobster Grilled Cheese. This meal included the soup of the day, which to my luck was the creamy tomato soup. And the gourmet grilled cheese featured buttered lobster claw and knuckle. We sat ourselves and waited for our food. I was completely silent at the table when we began eating. I was completely blown away and also satisfied. The soup was a great addition to the grilled cheese. It was grilled to perfection. It had the perfect amount of crunch and gooeyness.

Since Friday, we had planned what we were going to eat on Sunday. We can't leave Savannah without dropping in at Café M on East Bay Street. My first visit had me hooked almost two years ago. And to this day, even though it hasn't been long, I still am left speechless every time I leave. This authentic Parisian Bakery whisks you away to a subtle day in France. The décor is quite charming and the staff is top notch. I feel like a priority no matter if the establishment is busy or not, and believe me, they always are. They serve fresh brewed coffee and tea all day long. Not to mention, you can customize them to your liking. They serve a simple but always pleasurable menu of sweet and savory foods. Café M will always keep you on your toes, as they change the ready to order sweets seasonally.

On this pleasant and highly anticipated visit, my mother and I ordered the mozzarella, sundried tomatoes, and basil pesto croissant. It came with fresh grapes and house made chips that we couldn't get enough of. I had a cool glass of orange juice, while my mom sipped on their finest chai tea. For our sweets, my mom ordered an almond croissant and I ordered a red velvet pound cake with cream cheese frosting. My jaw drop before I ordered it. It surpassed my expectations, which was expected. Sometimes people make red velvet cake or cupcakes and it tastes like chocolate, and I absolutely cannot stand that. But of course Café M made it perfectly. It was moist and dense like a pound cake and tasted just like a red velvet cake, if not better. I recommend this wonderful eatery to any and everyone that lives in or visits Savannah. There is truly no experience like it, well unless you actually go to Paris. Unfortunately, I haven't made it there yet, but this is without a doubt enough for me.

Overall, this trip was a success. I absolutely cannot wait to go again next St. Patrick's Day.

Don't forget to follow them on Instagram @cafemsavannah!

bottom of page